Photonic Technologies for Communications

Symposium Chair and Vice-Chair
Ioannis Tomkos, Athens Information Technology Center,
Jason Jue, University of Texas at Dallas,

Optical communication systems and networks will continue to play a significant role in the development and deployment of emerging network infrastructures. These networks will be expected to support the diverse requirements of a broad range of applications as they are evolving dramatically in terms of technology and architecture towards a more flexible and intelligent optical network layer based on Dense Wavelength Division Multiplexing (DWDM) utilizing new optical switching architectures and technologies as well as advanced control and management protocols. Optical component technology is rapidly maturing offering cost effective solutions to a point where optical networks are currently being deployed in core backbone networks, and are gaining increased interest for deployment in metro and access environments. The widespread deployment of optical communication systems and networks provides many significant challenges. The purpose of this symposium is to provide a forum for researchers in academia and industry to present and discuss issues and possible solutions as well as emerging standards for the development, deployment, and application of optical networks. The areas of interest are focusing on optical networking for traditional telecommunications applications with emphasis on network and node design, traffic modeling and routing, network management, control and signaling etc. It is also important to address topics related to optical network solutions suitable to support new applications and services such as storage networks, global grid computing, disaster recovery etc. The symposium will consist of peer-reviewed research papers as well as tutorials and workshops covering a broad range of issues related to optical communication systems and networks.

Topics of interest:
Network architecture, modeling, planning, and design
Routing and wavelength assignment
Traffic grooming
Multicasting in optical networks
Optical packet switching
Optical burst switching
Protection and restoration
Network control and management
Impact of switching technology on performance
Architectures for optical cross-connects, add-drop multiplexers
Optical access network architectures
Multiple access techniques for passive optical networks
Integration of Ethernet and RPR into the optical layer

Optical network experiments (demonstrations, test beds and field trials) WDM transmission systems
Network elements and their performance
IP and MPLS over DWDM: integration and interworking
Hybrid wireless-optical networks
Value analysis of different network architectures and business cases
Next-generation SONET/SDH and MSPP
Security aspects
Network reliability and availability
Optical nets for grid computing
Storage Area Networking
Optical networking for VoD
Standardization issues
Multigranular and waveband-switching optical networks
Quality of service (QoS) in optical networks

Technical Program Committee

  • Stefano Baroni, NuPhoenix Inc., USA
  • Andrea Bianco, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
  • Paul Bonenfant, Movaz Networks, USA
  • Hakki Candan Cankaya, Alcatel, USA
  • Xiaojun Cao, Rochester Institute of Technology
  • Vincent Chan, MIT
  • Piet Demeester, Ghent University, Belgium
  • Sudhir Dixit, Nokia, USA
  • Schupke Dominic, Siemens AG, Germany
  • Tarek S. El-Bawab, Alcatel, USA
  • George Ellinas, City College of New York
  • Chien Su Fong, Multimedia University, Malaysia
  • Andrea Fumagalli, University of Texas at Dallas
  • Maurice Gagnaire, Telecom Paris, France
  • Christoph Gauger, University of Stuttgart, Germany
  • Nasir Ghani, Tennessee Tech.
  • Mounir Hamdi, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
  • Pin-Han Ho, University of Waterloo
  • Andrzej Jajszczyk, AGH University of Science and Technology, Poland
  • Ahmed Kamal, Iowa State University
  • Maode Ma, Nanyang Technological Univeristy, Singapore
  • Martin Maier, CTTC, Spain
  • Byrav Ramamurthy, University of Nebraska - Lincoln

  • J. Kevin Rhee, Samsung
  • George Rouskas, North Carolina State University
  • Ted Sargent, University of Toronto
  • Arunabha Sen, Arizona State University
  • Dimitra Simeonidou, University of Essex, UK
  • Krishna Sivalingam, University of Maryland, Baltimore County
  • Arun Somani, Iowa State University
  • Suresh Subramaniam, George Washington University
  • Marco Tacca, University of Texas at Dallas
  • Anna Tzanakaki, AIT, Greece
  • Kyriakos Vlachos, University of Patras, Greece
  • Vinod Vokkarane, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth
  • Hai Le Vu, University of Melbourne, Australia
  • Alan Willner, University of Southern California
  • Guoliang Xue, Arizona State University
  • Yuanyuan Yang, SUNY at Stony Brook
  • Hui Zang, Sprint ATL
  • Jun Zheng, University of Ottawa